Homemade Sundried Tomato Pasta Sauce

When I was a kid I used to love with all my heart and sole Latina’s packaged tortellini and sauces. My sister on the other hand hated them with a passion, but at that stage she was also still putting tomato sauce in our dad’s trademark spag bog (ummm thats Australian slang for spaghetti bolognese, yes we like to butcher the English language, its faster who has five seconds to waste on full words these days?) So at the time I wasn’t affected too greatly by her lack of appreciation for what I though where delicious packages of wonder.

I am sure you will all be pleased to hear that eventually my sister came to appreciate dad’s culinary mastery like the rest of us.

My memories of appreciate for latina lasted until I moved out of home recently and went through a stage where cooking for one person seemed like way to much effort pretty much every night. I remember weeks where I would make an enormous curry on Monday and just eat it every night all week or nights where my housemate and I would sit down and eat a block of chocolate together for dinner. I got sick a lot was a super healthy person when I first moved out, as you might imagine (I think there was a point where my mother was considering forcing me back home).

One of the things I actually did manage to cook a couple of times was Latina pasta. It was as easy and filling as I remember but I think I have been jaded by restaurant and home-made pasta and now Latina kind of tastes like sugary cardboard with a vague hint of tomato. I guess my sisters taste buds where not as void as I thought they were when we where kids.

So now I have a problem. I needed a pasta sauce that was easy and could use ingredients I would have in the fridge for nights where cooking something complicated was out and would stand up to being re-heated  if I needed it too.

The pasta sauce has been made many times since I moved out of home but until now I have never written it down so here we go.

Image

Easy Homemade Sundried Tomato Pasta Sauce
Serves 2 – 3

Ingredients

1 Tbs olive oil
1/2 brown onion sliced and halved
1 Tsp of crushed garlic (or one clove)
1 Can of diced tomatoes
1/4 Cup tomato paste
1/2 Tbs smoked paprika
1 Tsp ground cumin
1 Tbs dried tarragon
1 Cup sundried tomatoes
2 1/2 Tbs milk of choice (I used almond)
Season to taste

Method

Heat oil on medium to high heat in a medium saucepan then add your onion and garlic, stirring quickly to avoid burning the garlic. Cook the onion until it has gone soft and the garlic is fragrant.

Next add all other ingredients and combine. Lower the heat and let the sauce simmer for a good 15-20 minuets stirring occasionally.

Either serve immediately with some parmesan cheese or let cool, jar and keep refrigerated for  a couple of days.

The best part about this is you can buy the ingredients in bulk and then store them for an emergency like, for example, midway through the Easter long weekend when you realize that you don’t have anything for dinner and the shops are all closed (organization and planning are not my strong points).

I have served the sauce on zuchinni ‘pasta’ for the photos but you can of course have this on normal pasta.

Image
Leave a Reply

