No Bake ‘Red Velvet’ Love Bites

I am discovering that the hardest part of writing post for the blog is the first couple of sentences. I never really know where to start, maybe a photo will do.

IMG_1748

Aren’t they pretty?

I never quite got around to the little bites I was planning on making for Christmas so instead I give you the Valentines day option… Or you know, the whenever you feel like it option. They remind me of red velvet cake in appearance but are actually coloured with beetroot (I know, I know. Trust me)

These are super easy to make and are the perfect level of sweet without being sickly. If I am being honest this batch won’t make it till the end of the week let alone valentines day, but thats ok… because if I had them for valentines day that would mean sharing and I’m not so great at sharing food.

IMG_1741

No Bake ‘Red Velvet’ Love Bites

Makes approximately 12

Ingredients 

Juice of one large beetroot (uncooked)
2/4 Cup of coconut flour
5 tbs Coconut Oil
3 Tbs Maple Syrup (you can add less if you like they will still be sweet)
1/2 tsp Vanilla essence

Topping of choice:
– Melted chocolate
– Melted coconut butter
– Roll either of these in shredded coconut

Method

Place all ingredients in a bowl and mix until well combined.

Next using a table spoon for measurement, scoop out the dough and roll into balls, placing them on a tray or plate covered in baking paper.

Place the balls in the fridge before coating in chocolate or coconut butter if you choose.

IMG_1749

You can eat these straight out of the fridge but for the best texture leave them for a couple of minuets at room temperature.

Notes on substitution: You can sub the coconut butter for some other form of nut butter, however be aware that the taste can overwhelm the beetroot. My first batch was made with peanut butter and while they where yummy it was all I could taste.

Leave a Reply

